bit

full cheek snaffle

I like the full cheek snaffle bit for training.  The full cheek setup prevents the horse from opening its mouth and letting, say,  a ring slide into the mouth when flexing the head side to side.  And I think the snaffle bit is fine…I have used a french link snaffle in the past thinking it was easier on the horse’s tongue, but went back to a snaffle once I understood that the pressure should be applied on the corners of the mouth and not the bars or tongue of the horse. This will be discussed more later. I read somewhere that Philippe Karl uses this bit configuration, which makes me feel good about this choice, too.

Leave a Reply

